More chocolate… See a theme here?

I am slightly obsessed with food from My New Roots. The Chunky Chocolate Buckwheat Granola is my latest obsession, it is CRAZY good to eat, for breakfast and as the best snack ever.

It feels indulgent and given that I’ve been hauling myself out of the house by 5 each MORNING to get to Pilates it’s just the sort of bribe or trail of chocolatey goodness that sees me happily getting a move on.

Her Life-Changing Bread is just that also, easy to make, also as you make it the mix soaks which I believe is best practice in terms of nutrients.

Mainly I have also been making almond milk (just about to whizz up a batch) it’s super quick and so much better than the crazy amounts of “stuff” you get from the super market. This is my…

Quick Guide to Nut Milk

Try to get raw almonds (most have been pastuerised) soak a cup in filtered water over night.  Drain & rinse well. Pop them in the blender with a litre of water & blend it for a couple of minutes.

(I have a nut bag, if you really get into this then get one, otherwise put a clean tea towel over a sieve sitting in a bowl.)

Pour half the contents into the sieve then gather up the corners of the tea towel carefully and squeeze the liquid out. Repeat. Add a pinch of sea or Himalayan salt and keep in the fridge.

It’ll usually keep for about 4 days. It’s likely to separate even in a day but just stir it. I keep the nut pulp, often I’ll freeze it till I have a couple of batches. Then I dry it out, about 100 degrees for an hour or two, till a very light biscuit colour.  I then make nut balls which we keep in the fridge as a super snack… You mix a cup of the dry nut pulp with about 3-4 heaped tablespoons of peanut or almond butter, a couple of pinches of sea salt, chocolate chips, and maple syrup or honey to taste.  Roll them into balls and fridge or freezer them. You could also add coconut, dried fruit etc…

Awesome.

Leave a comment